Oreo Cookies are not Halal?

[UPDATE]: Whoo hoo..Alhumdulilah, so my cousin known as Angry Brown Guy contacted Nabisco and he got a response, they said as long as the North American Oreo product is not “Reduced Fat” or of the “Sugar Free” variety then it’s good to go (halal).

See the images below for proof…thanks Faraz!!

nabisco-picture.png

Is oreo halal?

Before you start throwing Oreo cookies at me, check this out, it’s on their UK corporate website. Not sure how well researched this is from Muslim scholars, but if anyone has more insight on this please share it.

It might specific to markets outside of U.S., anyways click on the following link to contact Nabisco/Oreo.

Oreo Cookies, Haraam?

Random Fact: The Oreo cookie has been America’s most popular cookie since it was introduced in 1912. More than 345 billion Oreo cookies have been consumed to date. More than 7.5 billion Oreo cookies are consumed each year, which comes out to 625 million per month and 20.5 million per day.

Tags: , ,

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

All praise is due to God. Saad started chillyoislamyo.com and is the lead content strategist. Saad loves writing, marketing, entrepreneurship, basketball, zabihah meat, and wants to make power moves to Jann'ah insha'Allah. Catch Saad on twitter @SaadYo

Love this article? Sign up for weekly updates!

Chill Yo Islam Yo delivers weekly self-reflective, weekly inspiring posts. Join our empowering community by entering your email address below.

16 Responses to “Oreo Cookies are not Halal?”

  1. Ayaz Hyder June 16, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    I just took a quick glance at the ingredients. What is the ingredient in question here?

  2. Saad June 16, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I'm not sure, that's why we need more insight into this, I wonder why they said it wasn't halal or kosher?

    I guess we'll need to contact them and ask.

    • Faraz June 16, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      I just inquired with them, I'll keep you updated if I get a reply back.

      • Saad June 16, 2010 at 11:29 am #

        Thanks Faraz!!

        It also might be specific to the U.K. market, not sure though.

  3. Amna June 16, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    omg nooooo!!!!!!!!!!

  4. RS June 16, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    LOL it seems like the person who was answering these questions didn't know what Halal/Kosher meant, so they just said no anyway.

    Wallahu A'aalam

  5. Rabi June 17, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    I had read this sometime last year. It might be somewhat helpful.

    http://eathalalfood.blogspot.com/2009/02/oreo-coo

  6. The MV June 21, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Aselamulaikum, Long time no talk, I didnt even see you at ICNA bro!

    I just wanted to point out that the above link and some other muslim brothers pointed out that the site is only for people in UK because its the UK site. Im not entirely sure but I would hope inshAllah that its true.

  7. Deniz June 22, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    In Australia, Oreo packets have a Halal stamp on them! :-) I think theyre manufactured in Malaysia or something, i cant remember.

  8. Muslim 4 Christian D June 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Peace/Salam

    Join us now and find your love.

    Free membership now.

  9. bc June 23, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Br. Saad, why don't you do an interview on this blog. It's a really good initiative and a very interesting blog to read.

  10. Pena Maya June 23, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    what about oreo in malaysia?

  11. Khawla August 25, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    The Oreo we have in the UAE are made in the KSA.

  12. Anonymous May 28, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Gotta love

  13. yemeni129 October 25, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    what about oreo in birmingham in britain

  14. Atiya April 10, 2012 at 4:21 am #

    AS, for anyone who lives in the UK oreo are haram. They contain calf rennet. However if you have a aldi store near you they sell their own version called cookies and cream. Which is vegetarian and tastes exactly the same as oreo. Hope this helps someone.

Leave a Reply