ahhh….your breath smell’s mad haraam!

Salam, Sorry people’s but i had to let you know what the deal was…

[UPDATE: A letter from Wrigley Consumer Affairs Office addressed to A Member of the Sunniforum, who requested Confirmation on Product Information and Ingredients]

From:
PR@wrigley.com | Block Address | Add to Contacts
To:
[clip]
Date: 26 May 2006, 09:00:14 PM
Subject: Re: In Response to your Website Comments – Ref # 000159856A

Dear Akbar,
Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.
To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the
U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy
products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra® Polar Ice
stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads encased
in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the
development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by
our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a
coating agent.
The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities
of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to
ALTOIDS, but it’s a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we
use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing
process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin,
but at the moment we’ve not been able to find a substitute that produces the
same quality you’ve come to love with ALTOIDS.
Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also
derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the
Altoids.
If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our
CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same
note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies are produced on the same line
as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance of cross contamination. Our CremeSaver
soft chews also contain a small amount of gelatin, which is pork based.
We hope this information has been helpful and thanks again for contacting the
Wrigley Company.
Sincerely,
Ryné King
Consumer Affairs Representative

============================================

Therefore according to the info above the following products of theirs are Haram:

Extra® Polar Ice Stick Gum
Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint
Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums
ALTOIDS mints
Our LifeSaver gummies
CremeSaver
LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver

Can't chew this it's haraam!

Can chew this it's Halal :) !

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Tags: , , , ,

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

All praise is due to God. Saad started chillyoislamyo.com and is the lead content strategist. Saad loves writing, marketing, entrepreneurship, basketball, zabihah meat, and wants to make power moves to Jann'ah insha'Allah. Catch Saad on twitter @SaadYo

Love this article? Sign up for weekly updates!

Chill Yo Islam Yo delivers weekly self-reflective, weekly inspiring posts. Join our empowering community by entering your email address below.

31 Responses to “ahhh….your breath smell’s mad haraam!”

  1. hooria August 8, 2007 at 8:51 pm #

    heyy salaam

    wht bout starburst.. i was kind of curious.. alot of people tell me there haraam. but then it says its from flower gelatin?!

    wht does that mean!??

  2. Naela August 9, 2007 at 10:22 am #

    M & M Co. Starburst Fruit Gelatin from

    Chews Lard BAD

    __________________________________________________________________________
    http://www.geocities.com/CollegePark/Field/7207/h
    i dont know how official that site is i skimmed thru like 4 of them and they tell me that Strarburst is haram.

    I was recently in England and the packs i had gotten from there had no Gelatin but there are other key words that can lead it to being haraam inshallah i will either call them or look into it..

  3. Azeem August 10, 2007 at 1:06 am #

    Thank You Zaheer Uncle

  4. saad August 10, 2007 at 11:46 am #

    HaHa funny Azeem, umm i think the best thing to do is just leave it as you said before Sister Naela with the doritoes issue also, because it's like we are trying to hard to eat all these candy's, when we can sacrifice it to be on the safe side, as the our Prophet S said : any Grey area, we should just leave it alone, meaning if we are doubtful about a certain issue, just drop it,any obviously this seems as one of those issues, we just gotta make sure we brush our teeth three times a day Inshallah.

  5. Sohaib August 11, 2007 at 5:26 am #

    Saalmwalaykum to all the brothers here….well, i just wanted to know that how correct is this information that these wrigley products are haraam…because if these are haraam, how come they're still in market in countries like Saudi Arabia,UAE,Kuwait,Baharin etc….because haraam products are not openly sold in market of such countries…

  6. saad August 11, 2007 at 6:54 am #

    Salam Brother Sohaib, umm not exactly sure, about what's in the market there, but i am sure that certain companies produce their product's for special market's according to their standards. We have Mcdonald's, Kfc, in America, but also in Saudi Also, but of course it's Halal, I'm sure wrigley produces their product's in the same halal way's.

  7. Huda August 21, 2007 at 10:04 am #

    Salam Bro Sohaib, just to answer your question about the gums. you are right about the fact that haraam products arent sold openly in muslim countries. However, these companies make special products for such countries. By that i mean, Wrigleys makes special 'Halal' products for Saudi Arabia, UAE etc because they have been told so by the government. Even companies like Skittles, if you check the skittles packets found in Saudi Arabia or even England, you will notice that it says on the back in big bold letters, 'Gelatin Free' or 'No animal products used'. Yet the same products in North America have gelatin.

    So my main point is, even though i find it quite unfair but if you happen to go to a muslim country im sure you can enjoy these same candies, while over here you cant. Hope this info helps.

    • Asif_khan872002@yaho January 25, 2010 at 6:43 am #

      hi.i think those products which have alcohal or enzymes that is strongly prohibited in Islam.

      so my question is that is RED BULL is Haram or Halal? plzz i sometime drink that to high my energy or sometime i drink boost? which is i think Indian product.

      my email is under, if anyone give me answer with the proved i will not used these products any more.. but i am not shure about it… i will be waiting for ur Reply.. Asif Khan…

  8. Ali September 13, 2007 at 3:45 pm #

    ok, i have a question, it might be dumb to those who just dont no what i am talking about but those who knows bout it and there family members are doing it and they dont even know so…..

    some 1 got to do some research on it because we dont no if its haram or halal…

    question Is

    Is Marijuana really haram or it just mukru…?

    well we dont no yet but in Quran it says that anything that make you loose control over your self is haram and Marijuana does`nt do that so ……

    the only thing that makes u loose control is Alchol and other different types of drugs…

    anyways if any one could answer my question please…

  9. Saad September 13, 2007 at 4:14 pm #

    Inshallah Read My Weed Article….

    Its in the top rated article section.

  10. Nafiz December 5, 2007 at 9:12 am #

    Salam, Actually eclipse is haram, (for people who are not malikis) too, because it has 2grams of sugar alcohol.

    • Anonymous February 28, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

      alcohol is haram when it makes you lose control of yourself. if you don't feel any different, it won't do anything. please correct me if i am wrong

    • Leatrice February 15, 2014 at 12:40 am #

      Your cranium must be prinoctetg some very valuable brains.

  11. Saif October 26, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Eclipse is halal because sugar alcohol is nothing it not considered as anything.

    • Cristina February 14, 2014 at 10:21 am #

      Aww Dunia, u are very kind :) inshallah u can be eltacxy how u want to be! I’m going to do some more blog posts for Muslims, about how to wear hijab etc! Im so happy I can inspire you! Inshallah i can influence u on the right way and not the wrong way :) xx

  12. Shabbeer October 27, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    Hi,

    Just re-check on Wrigley's products.. I doubt they dont any products without Alcohol or meat…

    Regards,

    Shabbeer

  13. Muhammad Abdullah January 14, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    As per australian Wrigley website, the following products are Halal certified:

    • HUBBA BUBBA CHUNK Seriously Strawberry

    • JUICY FRUIT Citronic

    • JUICY FRUIT Strappleberry

    • EXTRA WHITE White Fruit

    • PK Blue

    Source: http://www.wrigley.com.au/products/Halal.asp

  14. waqas March 28, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    i would also like to know about starburst they taste good

  15. Fadi April 9, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    Salam all,

    Here's the number for Mars consumer care 1-800-627-7852 in the USA.

    Going through their menu they state that all their products with Gelatin are derived from beef with the exception of starburst gummies which is derived from pork.

    So that means Gelatin in skittles or starburst jellybeans should be ok.

    Allaho A3lam

  16. sOhAa June 15, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    is "5" gum halal? ive been looking for it.

    • Anonymous June 19, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      5 gum is halal

  17. Zafar August 29, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    someone needs to send another email to wrigleys as the information may be outdated. i would also like to know whether 5 gum is halal. also according to the image basically all the EXTRA products are haraam is that true or just because an image of EXTRA polar ice couldnt be found

  18. amir January 10, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    hi

    thx for this important info.

    can you tell me about 5gum, trident gum, and ice breakers mint and gum pls like this.

    becouse we import them to my country and Im a muslim too

    i want to know wich one is halal then I start to work on them.

    thx

    • Nadia February 15, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

      Assalamu'alaikum,

      You can go to "muslimconsmergroup.com" to get your aswers, it's where I go when I have questions like this.

      • Nadia February 15, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

        sorry, my mistake "muslimconsumergroup.com"

  19. sallychung January 17, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    ummm…<3

    • prince January 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

      i love "ummm…<3" and you!!

    • J.O.B. January 17, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

      me too!!!and let taste it together<3<3<3<3…

  20. rosesa January 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    for me,i think trident gum are perfect for me!

  21. robinson January 17, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    can we be together? becaz we hv same favor

  22. asif July 30, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    dear muslim brothers/sisters , I don't understand one thing if anything we are not sure halaal or haraam and is not necessary for us why not we leave them as per said prophet pbuh. We should realise the fact that not only pork gelatin is haraam also other animals gelatin is haraam because they are not slaughtered as per islam.

    Please leave everything you are not sure halaal or haraam

Leave a Reply